Welcome to A Circle of Books.

Please visit Toni/CoolpinkOne (ME!!) at my new blog:

WWW.THE SOAPYVIOLINIST.BLOGSPOT.COM

Hello and welcome to my book blog. This blog is dedicated to books everywhere and the people who write and read them. Thank you for stopping by.

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Mailbox Monday August 31st




Mailbox Monday

Hosted by Marcia at the Printed Page.

Here is my mailbox.

This week I got A Friend of the Family, a novel, by Lauren Grodstein.
Thank you Algonquin! I can't wait to read this one.

About A Friend of the Family

Pete Dizinoff has spent years working toward a life that would be, by all measures, deemed successful. A skilled internist, he’s built a thriving practice in suburban New Jersey. He has a devoted wife, a network of close friends, and an impressive house, and most important, he has a son, Alec, on whom he’s pinned all his hopes. Pete has afforded Alec every opportunity, bailed him out of close calls with the law, and even ensured his acceptance into a good college.

But Pete never counted on the wild card: Laura, his best friend's daughter—ten years older than Alec, irresistibly beautiful, with a past so shocking that it’s never spoken of. When Laura sets her sights on Alec, Pete sees his plans for his son not just unraveling but being destroyed completely. Believing he has only the best of intentions, he sets out to derail this romance and rescue his son. He could never have foreseen how his whole world would shatter in the process.

Lauren Grodstein delivers a riveting story in the tradition of The Ice Storm, American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.

About Lauren Grodstein

Lauren Grodstein is the author of the collection The Best of Animals and a novel, Reproduction is the Flaw of Love, which was bo th a Breakout Book selection from Amazon.com and a Borders Original Voices pick. Her work has been translated into German, Italian, and French. She teaches creative writing at Rutgers University.

I love to see what you got this week. Happy Monday everyone. I will be blog visiting all week. It is good to post a comment here though to remind me to stop by.

9 comments:

gautami tripathy said...

Very interesting book.

Mondays: What's up?

Anna said...

This does sound interesting. I'm looking forward to your review.

--Anna
Diary of an Eccentric

Wanda said...

Sounds like a stirring read!

Crystal said...

This sounds really good and it is going on my list. Enjoy!

bermudaonion said...

I go this one too. It looks great!

Serena said...

wow, I haven't heard of this one...looks like a good read.

Kristen said...

I have this one too. It does look good, doesn't it?

Diane said...

A Friend of the Family looks good to me. Hope you enjoy it!

Amy said...

I wasn't familiar with this author and I am so glad you wrote about her. I looked up her other books and I really like the sound of them. A Friend of the Family sounds like a captivating read, too. I can't wait to hear how you like it.

Enjoy!
~ A